Felony Levels in Raleigh, North Carolina - Sparrow Law Firm

Raleigh Criminal Defense Attorney, Michelle Sparrow, demonstrates the varying levels of felonies in North Carolina.

In the state of North Carolina, felonies are organized into 10 categories, with Class A Felony being the most serious offenses and Class I being the least:

  1. Class A Felony
  2. Class B1 Felony
  3. Class B2 Felony
  4. Class C Felony
  5. Class D Felony
  6. Class E Felony
  7. Class F Felony
  8. Class G Felony
  9. Class H Felony
  10. Class I Felony

In terms of sentencing, North Carolina operates off of a grid system to determine a sentence. This grid uses two main criteria for sentencing: felony class and prior record of the individual charged with the offense. Not taking into account prior record or any additional information about the crime, a Class A felony will always be sentenced to death or life without parole, whereas a Class I might be sentenced to 3-12 months.

Class A felonies are the only felonies where prior record will not be taken into account in the determination of sentencing. An example of a Class A felony would be murder where a Class F would be involuntary manslaughter. North Carolina is also not subject to statute of limitations regarding felonies.

Occasionally, if you have no prior record, probation may be a viable sentence depending on the nature of the crime and which corresponding felony it is categorized into, as well as any mitigating factors.

If you have been charged with a felony, contact the Raleigh criminal defense attorneys at Sparrow Law Firm for a free consultation.