What is a Class A Felony :Sentence and Penalties for Class C Felony

North Carolina’s felonies can be classified into different “classes” that are used to determine the extent of the punishment to be given to a certain person. Class C felonies are the third-to-the-highest in the class ranking..

This is a high-level felony, and is the worst kind of felony. These include crimes such as arson, burglary, armed robbery, voluntary manslaughter and murder. Class C felonies may involve:

Aggravated assault

This felony is described as inflicting serious bodily injury to another, or the act of causing serious bodily injury purpose. This is done with an extreme indifference to the value of human life.


As with other places, kidnapping is the crime of taking a person against his or her will. This person is then brought from one place to another. This is considered a kidnapping if the “taking away” of the person is done for the purpose of ransom, if this “enhances” another crime, or fleeing while committing a felony.

Sentencing, Prior Criminal Record

Class C felony: 44 to 182 months

For any felony offense aside from Class A felonies, North Carolina’s courts also have to assess a person’s prior criminal record level. These convictions are worth “points,” which can determine the overall sentence of a person.

Each prior Class B2, C, or D felony conviction: 6 points

Each prior misdemeanor conviction: 1 point

Statute of Limitations

Others may ask about what are called “statute of limitations” you can consult a expert lawyer for that. These give prosecutors only a limited amount of time to file criminal charges. Once someone commits a crime, prosecutors must file the charges within a legally established limit. If a prosecutor misses this, the charge can no longer be filed.

However, North Carolina is one of the very few states that do not have such a time limit.

Those who would like to know more about the specifics of crimes in North Carolina may contact lawyers and legal experts from nearby courts for consultations.