HOW CAN WE HELP?
WHAT IS A CLASS A FELONY :SENTENCE AND PENALTIES FOR CLASS B1 AND B2 FELONY
North Carolina’s felonies can be classified into different “classes” that are used to determine the extent of the punishment to be given to a certain person. Class B felonies are the second-to-the-highest in the class ranking. It has two different types, Class B1 and B2.
This is a high-level felony, and is the worst kind of felony. These include crimes such as arson, burglary, armed robbery, voluntary manslaughter and murder. Class B1 felonies involve:
Rape in the first degree is one of the most serious offenses in North Carolina. This is defined as engaging in vaginal intercourse with a victim under the age of 13, and if the offender is at least four years order. Another condition is if one does this against the will of the other person by use of force, or the use of a deadly weapon, or if harm is caused in the process.
Aggravated child molestation
This is a first-degree sexual offense that is defined as engaging in a sexual act, where the victim is under the age of 13 and the offender is at least four years older. Another condition is if a dangerous weapon is used, or if serious physical injury is inflicted. This is also the case if the offender is aided or abetted by one or more persons.
Meanwhile, examples of Class B2 felonies are:
This differs from first-degree murders in that it is not a premeditated act. However, it is still an intentional killing. For instance, if Motorist A cuts off Motorist B, and B shoots A out of anger, this is second-degree murder. This is because the murder was not planned, but it was still intended.
Conspiracy to Commit a Class A or Class B1 felony
SENTENCING, PRIOR CRIMINAL RECORD
Class B1 felony: 144 months to life without parole
Class B2 felony: 94 to 393 months
For any felony offense aside from Class A felonies, North Carolina’s courts also have to assess a person’s prior criminal record level. These convictions are worth “points,” which can determine the overall sentence of a person.
Each prior Class BI felony conviction: 9 points
Each prior Class B2, C, or D felony conviction: 6 points
Each prior misdemeanor conviction: 1 point
STATUTE OF LIMITATIONS
Others may ask about what are called “statute of limitations.” These give prosecutors only a limited amount of time to file criminal charges. Once someone commits a crime, prosecutors must file the charges within a legally established limit. If a prosecutor misses this, the charge can no longer be filed.
However, North Carolina is one of the very few states that do not have such a time limit.
Those who would like to know more about the specifics of crimes in North Carolina may contact attorney and legal experts from nearby courts for consultations.
IT CAN ALL GO AWAY
At Sparrow Law Firm, we understand legal trouble can cause many sleepless nights, but the right attorney can make it all go away.