What is a Class A Felony : Sentence and Penalties for Class F Felony

North Carolina’s felonies can be classified into different “classes” that are used to determine the extent of the punishment to be given to a certain person. Class F felonies are the sixth-to-the-highest in the class ranking..

This felony falls under the mid-level felony, and may include violent assaults, involuntary manslaughter, and common-law robbery. These also carry the possibility of intensive probation. However, some convictions on these circumstances also have lengthy prison sentences but an experienced attorney may help you. Class F felonies may involve:

Human trafficking of an adult

Someone has committed the act of trafficking an adult when a person has recruited, enticed, harbored, transported, provided, or obtained by any means another person with an intent that this person be held in involuntary or sexual servitude.

Sentencing, Prior Criminal Record

Class F felony: 10 to 41 months

For any felony offense aside from Class A felonies, North Carolina’s courts also have to assess a person’s prior criminal record level. These convictions are worth “points,” which can determine the overall sentence of a person.

Each prior Class E, F, or G felony conviction: 4 points

Each prior misdemeanor conviction: 1 point

Statute of Limitations

Others may ask about what are called “statute of limitations.” These give prosecutors only a limited amount of time to file criminal charges. Once someone commits a crime, prosecutors must file the charges within a legally established limit. If a prosecutor misses this, the charge can no longer be filed.

However, North Carolina is one of the very few states that do not have such a time limit.

Those who would like to know more about the specifics of crimes in North Carolina may contact lawyers and legal experts from nearby courts for consultations.