What is a Class A Felony : Sentence and Penalties for Class D Felony

North Carolina’s felonies can be classified into different “classes” that are used to determine the extent of the punishment to be given to a certain person. Class D felonies are the fourth-to-the-highest in the class ranking..

This is a high-level felony, and is the worst kind of felony. These include crimes such as arson, burglary, armed robbery, voluntary manslaughter and murder. Class D felonies may involve:

Armed robbery

Armed robbery occurs if a person is in possession of a firearm or a weapon, and if that person threatens to use it in a commission of a robbery. This can happen in any time and setting. This is a Class D felony regardless if one is a primary actor, or an accomplice.

First-degree arson

Arson is in itself the intentional act of setting fire to an object, a building, or a property, However, it is first-degree arson if the act is to willfully and maliciously burn a dwelling or other buildings within an area of another while someone is present in the structure.

Sentencing, Prior Criminal Record

Class D felony: 38 to 160 months

For any felony offense aside from Class A felonies, North Carolina’s courts also have to assess a person’s prior criminal record level. These convictions are worth “points,” which can determine the overall sentence of a person.

Each prior Class B2, C, or D felony conviction: 6 points

Each prior misdemeanor conviction: 1 point

Statute of Limitations

Others may ask about what are called “statute of limitations.” These give prosecutors only a limited amount of time to file criminal charges. Once someone commits a crime, prosecutors must file the charges within a legally established limit. If a prosecutor misses this, the charge can no longer be filed.

However, North Carolina is one of the very few states that do not have such a time limit.

Those who would like to know more about the specifics of crimes in North Carolina may contact lawyers and legal experts from nearby courts for consultations.